CONNECTED

Learning to Draw

Have you ever wanted to learn to draw? Maybe you put your pencil and paper down years ago. Maybe you’ve never so much as doodled. Whatever your experience of drawing, we want to invite you to take part in a series of upbeat drawing classes, designed for beginners as well as seasoned sketchers.

Join us for an hour of creativity once a week to put pencil to paper in a supportive environment.

NEW!

Figure Drawing Fundamentals – Form & Proportions

Join us in learning about the fundamentals of figure drawing. In this series we’ll look at proportions, and how to depict human posture. Your teacher will support you in simplifying complex shapes and guide you as you create convincing three-dimensional illusions on the page. These sessions are suitable for all levels with participants supported in a friendly and encouraging online environment.

Choose your sessions by registering below.

REGISTER HERE

Monday 30th May – 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK time

The Gesture – Structure & Positioning Download the reference images

In this session you’ll learn to portray various human poses. As well as learning how to simplify seemingly complex shapes by revealing simple geometrical aspects of the body.

 

Monday 6th June – 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK time

The Setting  – Negative Space & Proportions Download the reference images

This week you’ll learn how to use surrounding elements within a drawing to help with proportions. Your teacher will support you in observing planes and shadows in order to convey a sense of depth in your work.

 

Monday 13th June – 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK time

The Dancing Figure – Proportions & Form Download the reference images

In this class you’ll delve into proportions of the human body and learn how to break down the human form into basic shapes. You’ll discover how to capture the human figure in motion and get a real sense of creating three-dimensionality within your drawings.

STILL TIME TO REGISTER!

Drawing Flora – The Beauty of Nature

Join us in creating a stunning series of drawings in these botanical themed classes. You will be introduced to different drawing techniques and supported in developing a number of nature-based drawings of daffodils and tulips through to lily pads and trees. You don’t need any previous experience to take part. These sessions will help you to develop your drawing skills and hone your ability to observe in a supportive and friendly online environment.

Choose your sessions by registering below.

REGISTER HERE

Monday 23rd May – 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK Time

Trees & Seeds – Tone & Solidity Download the reference images

In this class we’ll learn about using tone and creating the illusion of solidity. Your teacher will assist you in drawing convincing trees and flowers and along with learning create strong form through the exploration of topiary.

You will need:

  • Paper
  • Pencil
  • Biro
  • Eraser

BUY MATERIALS

At the end of each class, email us a photo of your favourite drawings so we can add them to the online gallery! Send your drawings to: k.wilson@theartmovement.co.uk

Click the button below to view all the incredible drawings you have sent in!

PAST SESSIONS:

 

Monday 16th May – Zooming In: Form & Detail

Monday 9th May – Spring Flowers: Line & Texture

Monday 18th April – Frozen Places: Tone & Movement 

Monday 11th April – Desert Creatures: Shape & Form

Monday 4th April – Jungle Biome: Warmth & Texture

Monday 28th March – Circles: Ellipses & Perspective

Monday 21st March – Bridges: Texture & Perspective

Monday 14th March – Roads: Distance & Perspective

Monday 7th March – Facial Features: Eye, Lips & Hair

Monday 28th February – Tonal Portrait: Shadows & Reduction

Monday 21st February – Continuous Line: Grip & Line Weight

Monday 14th February – Human Figure: Proportions & Form

Monday 7th February – The Torso: Solidity & Muscle

Monday 31st January – Study of Hands: Anatomy & Positioning

Monday 24th January – Zooming In: Texture & Tones

Monday 17th January – Creating Shadow: Crisp & Soft Edges

Monday 10th January – Drawing Reflections Capturing Surface Movement

Monday 13th December – Winter Treats: Drawing Boxes

Monday 6th December – Cheers! Drawing Perspective

Monday 29th November – Festive Texture: Drawing Winter Foliage

Monday 22nd November – Ingredients: Perspective & Proportions

Monday 15th November – Nuts & Spices: Negative Space & Mark Making

Monday 8th November – Drawing Fruit: Positioning & Contrast

Monday 1st November – Strength of Tone: Creating Contrast

Monday 25th October – Mid Tone: How to create texture

Monday 18th October – Minimal Tone: The importance of leaving lines out

Monday 11th October – Depicting Birds: Feathers & Form

Monday 4th October – Animal Eyes: Roundness & Shine

Monday 27th September – On Safari: Pattern & Texture

Monday 20th September – People in Action: Dynamism & Positioning

Monday 13th September – Reclined Poses: Angles & Composition

Monday 6th September – Standing People: Simple Shapes & Negative Space

Monday 23rd August – Gardeners & their Tools: Figures & Vanishing Points

Monday 16th August – Drawing Garden Buildings: Perspective & Texture

Monday 9th August – Drawing Flowers: Line Direction & Form

Monday 2nd August – Three-Quarter Faces: Viewpoint & Angles 

Monday 26th July – Drawing Profiles: Proportions & Side Views 

Monday 19th July – Full-Face Portraits: Positioning & Drawing Eyes

Monday 12th July – People in Action: Shapes & Tension

Monday 5th July – Moving Vehicles: Perspective & Blur

Monday 28th June – Animals in Motion: Positioning & Movement

Monday 21st June – Drawing Above the Waves: Movement & Energy

Monday 14th June – Drawing Under the Sea: Flowing Lines & Negative Space

Monday 7th June – Drawing the Seashore: Structure & Form

Monday 24th May – Drawing Domestic Animals: Composition & Creating Texture

Monday 17th May – Drawing Wild Animals: Using Negative Space & Applying Pattern

Monday 10th May – Drawing Farm Animals: Simplifying Shapes & Composition

Monday 3rd May- Drawing Pattern in 3D: Contour Lines & Direction

Monday 26th April – Drawing Cuboids: Perspective & Shading

Monday 19th April – Drawing Spheres: Rounded Shapes & Form

Monday 12th April – Drawing Seeds & Pods: Texture & Shading

Monday 5th April – Drawing Trees: Learning to Shade

Monday 29th March – Drawing Cacti & Succulents: Shadow, Shapes & Pattern

Monday 22nd March – Drawing Front & Three Quarter Facing Portraits: Comparing Front on and Three Quarter Faces

Monday 15th March – Drawing Eyes & Three-Quarter Facing Portraits: Contrast & Comparison

Monday 8th March – Drawing Front Facing Portraits: Shadow & Texture

Monday 1st March – Drawing Insects: Proportions and Mark Making

Monday 22nd February – Drawing Reptiles: Negative Space and Contrast

Monday 15th February – Drawing Mammals: Texture and Composition

Monday 8th February 2021 – Drawing Hands: Simple Line and Shape

Monday 1st February 2021 – Figure Drawing: Negative Space and Line Weight

Monday 25th  January 2021 – Portraits: Composition and Shape Building

Monday 18th  January 2021: Slicing fruit: Loose Drawing & Tone

Monday 11th  January 2021 – Figure drawing: Breaking Down the Figure

Monday 4th  January 2021 – Drawing Water: Highlights & Fluidity

Monday 21st December 2020 – Your Festive Drawing Class

Monday 14th December – Let’s Get Festive: Gifts, Quality Streets and Mince Pies

Monday 7th December – Musical Instruments: Guitars, Pianos and Saxophones

Monday 30th November – Animals: The Hare, the Kangaroo and the Stag

Monday 23rd November – Holly, Berries & Fir trees: Contrast and Shape

Monday 16th November – Hands: Simplifying a Tricky Subject

Monday 9th November – Birds & Feathers: Texture and Pattern

Monday 2nd November – Perspective in Buildings and elements of architecture

Monday 26th October – Pumpkins and Autumn Leaves: Shading and line direction

Monday 19th October – Peppers and Chillies: Lines weights and negative space

Monday 12th October – Fir Cones and Sunflowers: Simple is Best

Monday 5th October – Stones and All-Sorts: Shadow and Line Direction

Monday 28th September – Animals: Simple Shape and Texture

Monday 21st September – The Gallery: Perspective and working in cubes

Monday 14th September – Bottles and glasses: Ellipses and line weight

Monday 7th September – Drawing Fruit: Negative space and line direction