CONNECTED

Learning to Draw

Have you ever wanted to learn to draw? Maybe you put your pencil and paper down years ago. Maybe you’ve never so much as doodled. Whatever your experience of drawing, we want to invite you to take part in a series of upbeat drawing classes, designed for beginners as well as seasoned sketchers.

Join us for an hour of creativity once a week to put pencil to paper in a supportive environment.

NEW!

DRAWING TONE – LINE WEIGHT & CONTRAST

Join us in learning all about tone. Whatever your experience, this series will help you gain an understanding in weight of line and tonal difference. You’ll learn the importance of leaving lines out and how to create texture alongside which you will develop a better understanding of light. You’ll be looking at very mixed subject matter to build up experience and knowledge in this important area of your drawing practice.

Please register for your Zoom link to join the class.

REGISTER HERE

Monday 18th October– 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK Time

Minimal Tone – The importance of leaving lines out Download the reference images

In this session you’ll look purely at pale objects against pale backgrounds. This will help you to understand the importance of leaving lines out. Your teacher will support you in finding the right lines to portray convincing shapes using minimal tone.

 

Monday 25th October – 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK Time

Mid Tone – How to create texture Download the reference images

In this session you’ll explore a range of subjects in mid-tones. From pigeons to seaweed, you’ll learn to portray interesting textures and how to differentiate your object from the background.

 

Monday 1st November – 6:30pm – 7:30pm UK Time

Strength of Tone – Creating Contrast Download the reference images

This class will teach you how to create contrast. You’ll play with strong light and shadow, learning to take tone to the extremes. You will look at a number of objects and finish the session with a high contrast portrait, portraying sharp shadows across a face.

 

You will need:

  • Paper
  • Pencil – preferably 2B or softer (i.e., 3,4,5,6,7, or 8B). The darker the line the better!
  • Biro
  • Rubber

At the end of each class, email us a photo of your favourite drawing for a chance to win some art supplies! Send your drawings to: k.wilson@theartmovement.co.uk

Click the button below to view all the incredible drawings you have sent in!

PAST SESSIONS:

 

Monday 11th October – Depicting Birds: Feathers & Form

Monday 4th October – Animal Eyes: Roundness & Shine

Monday 27th September – On Safari: Pattern & Texture

Monday 20th September – People in Action: Dynamism & Positioning

Monday 13th September – Reclined Poses: Angles & Composition

Monday 6th September – Standing People: Simple Shapes & Negative Space

Monday 23rd August – Gardeners & their Tools: Figures & Vanishing Points

Monday 16th August – Drawing Garden Buildings: Perspective & Texture

Monday 9th August – Drawing Flowers: Line Direction & Form

Monday 2nd August – Three-Quarter Faces: Viewpoint & Angles 

Monday 26th July – Drawing Profiles: Proportions & Side Views 

Monday 19th July – Full-Face Portraits: Positioning & Drawing Eyes

Monday 12th July – People in Action: Shapes & Tension

Monday 5th July – Moving Vehicles: Perspective & Blur

Monday 28th June – Animals in Motion: Positioning & Movement

Monday 21st June – Drawing Above the Waves: Movement & Energy

Monday 14th June – Drawing Under the Sea: Flowing Lines & Negative Space

Monday 7th June – Drawing the Seashore: Structure & Form

Monday 24th May – Drawing Domestic Animals: Composition & Creating Texture

Monday 17th May – Drawing Wild Animals: Using Negative Space & Applying Pattern

Monday 10th May – Drawing Farm Animals: Simplifying Shapes & Composition

Monday 3rd May- Drawing Pattern in 3D: Contour Lines & Direction

Monday 26th April – Drawing Cuboids: Perspective & Shading

Monday 19th April – Drawing Spheres: Rounded Shapes & Form

Monday 12th April – Drawing Seeds & Pods: Texture & Shading

Monday 5th April – Drawing Trees: Learning to Shade

Monday 29th March – Drawing Cacti & Succulents: Shadow, Shapes & Pattern

Monday 22nd March – Drawing Front & Three Quarter Facing Portraits: Comparing Front on and Three Quarter Faces

Monday 15th March – Drawing Eyes & Three-Quarter Facing Portraits: Contrast & Comparison

Monday 8th March – Drawing Front Facing Portraits: Shadow & Texture

Monday 1st March – Drawing Insects: Proportions and Mark Making

Monday 22nd February – Drawing Reptiles: Negative Space and Contrast

Monday 15th February – Drawing Mammals: Texture and Composition

Monday 8th February 2021 – Drawing Hands: Simple Line and Shape

Monday 1st February 2021 – Figure Drawing: Negative Space and Line Weight

Monday 25th  January 2021 – Portraits: Composition and Shape Building

Monday 18th  January 2021: Slicing fruit: Loose Drawing & Tone

Monday 11th  January 2021 – Figure drawing: Breaking Down the Figure

Monday 4th  January 2021 – Drawing Water: Highlights & Fluidity

Monday 21st December 2020 – Your Festive Drawing Class

Monday 14th December – Let’s Get Festive: Gifts, Quality Streets and Mince Pies

Monday 7th December – Musical Instruments: Guitars, Pianos and Saxophones

Monday 30th November – Animals: The Hare, the Kangaroo and the Stag

Monday 23rd November – Holly, Berries & Fir trees: Contrast and Shape

Monday 16th November – Hands: Simplifying a Tricky Subject

Monday 9th November – Birds & Feathers: Texture and Pattern

Monday 2nd November – Perspective in Buildings and elements of architecture

Monday 26th October – Pumpkins and Autumn Leaves: Shading and line direction

Monday 19th October – Peppers and Chillies: Lines weights and negative space

Monday 12th October – Fir Cones and Sunflowers: Simple is Best

Monday 5th October – Stones and All-Sorts: Shadow and Line Direction

Monday 28th September – Animals: Simple Shape and Texture

Monday 21st September – The Gallery: Perspective and working in cubes

Monday 14th September – Bottles and glasses: Ellipses and line weight

Monday 7th September – Drawing Fruit: Negative space and line direction